BlahBlahCafe
The Zoolook Forum

Other (Electronic) Musicians - Kitaro interview

Robi - Tue Sep 18, 2007 8:35 pm
Post subject: Kitaro interview
As Kitaro sits down for an interview, the contrast between the cool of Columbia Records' cloistered Akasaka offices and the outside heat foreshadows the surprising contrasts that are to emerge in an hour-long chat with the self-taught musician.

While the interview has been scheduled to promote Kitaro's current project sampling the temple bells of Shikoku, a wide-ranging discussion reveals an unexpectedly stubborn side to the soft-spoken composer.

Since his debut solo album, 1978's "Astral Voyage," created a sensation, Kitaro has been known for atmospheric, instrumental music that blends the sounds of East and West.

But the determination that has made him a leader of so-called "New Age" music has also led him into minor confrontations with authoritarian regimes at a time when he acted as a sort of musical ambassador for Japan with neighboring countries that had been its victims in World War II. A concert scheduled for Singapore in the early '80s, for example, had to be canceled when Kitaro refused to bend to the strict rules applied to those seeking to enter the country.

Singapore once wanted to cut his hair

"The tickets were sold out," he recalls. "But when I went through immigration, they were like, Kitaro, please come over here, you have a problem. You cannot enter with long hair. They said, eIf you would like to enter Singapore, you will have to cut your hair.' I said, eI don't want to cut my hair, so I would like to cancel the concert.'"

Kitaro's entire band and crew had already entered the country, but he was not to be deterred. "I called the airline and said, ePlease tell them I would like to cancel the concert because I don't want to cut my hair.' I next flew from Singapore to Narita, and then immediately to Hong Kong, where I held a press conference explaining why I canceled the show."