Welcome to the new BlahBlahCafe!

A new server, a new environment. Updated and all.

As with every migration, some things might have been lost in translation (at least, that's my experience in software development). The main problem is logging in into the boards. These could be caused by several reasons:

- Your browser cache & cookies need to be cleared because we moved to a new server. If you get the error message whilst logging: "The submitted form was invalid. Try submitting again.", you need to clear your cache & cookies. You can find a "Delete cookies" option at the bottom of this page.

- There is also a chance that your password is not correctly converted to the new system. This is a known bug with migrating the system. The only solution is to request a new password, there's a link on the form that will send an email to you to create a new password. If that fails, I can set a password for you, you can contact us at the "Contact us" link at the bottom of the page.

"What Is The Synth Used In" Thread


Post Posted Mon Sep 25, 2006 5:46 pm
Nico_Noyau
Assistant Admin & Bootleg Expert

User avatar
Posts: 5681
Location: Aix en Provence, France

Hi !

Because I think it could be useful, here is a little thread where you can ask the question "what is the synth used in this song ?"

I begin :


What is the synth used in Moscow Oxygène 2 intro ?
What is the synth used in Moscow to make all the choirs ?




Kind regards,
Nicolas
Image Image
My music, webdev, photos, videos : www.nicolaskern.fr
Robert Dugenou

Attended :
Teo&Tea showcase in Cannes [France] - 20/05/2007
Théâtre Marigny, Paris [France] - 15/12/2007
<2010> Marseille [France] - 20/03/2010
Monaco - 01/07/2011
Arènes de Nîmes – 14/07/2016
Post Posted Mon Sep 25, 2006 5:56 pm
GeeJee
The GUV'NOR

User avatar
Posts: 8326
Location: Zwolle, The Netherlands
Likes received  : 1

noyau wrote:What is the synth used in Moscow Oxygène 2 intro ?
JP8K
What is the synth used in Moscow to make all the choirs ?
They actually had real choirs... as for the synthesized choirs: I think Mellotron, Raven and maybe Alesis QS...
Post Posted Mon Sep 25, 2006 5:58 pm
Nico_Noyau
Assistant Admin & Bootleg Expert

User avatar
Posts: 5681
Location: Aix en Provence, France

GeeJee wrote:
noyau wrote:What is the synth used in Moscow Oxygène 2 intro ?
JP8K
YaY, I can do it, I was sure it was it but I didn't recognise the patch...
GeeJee wrote:
What is the synth used in Moscow to make all the choirs ?
They actually had real choirs... as for the synthesized choirs: I think Mellotron, Raven and maybe Alesis QS...
Oh yes, the Raven, choirs look like Oxygène 7 ones :D

Thanks 8)
Image Image
My music, webdev, photos, videos : www.nicolaskern.fr
Robert Dugenou

Attended :
Teo&Tea showcase in Cannes [France] - 20/05/2007
Théâtre Marigny, Paris [France] - 15/12/2007
<2010> Marseille [France] - 20/03/2010
Monaco - 01/07/2011
Arènes de Nîmes – 14/07/2016
Post Posted Tue Sep 26, 2006 9:39 pm
jp8000


User avatar
Posts: 2050
Location: Finland, Itä-Suomen lääni

What intruments was used on ethnicolor 1?

Fairlight (II?) of course, but how about others?
Post Posted Tue Sep 26, 2006 9:54 pm
Jarp2600


User avatar
Posts: 3136
Location: Apeldoorn, NL

Oh, damn... If I knew that question earlier... I was last month on a website where was a complete list of synths used during each Zoolook-track separately! But now I can't find it anymore :(
"If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem"

My soundclick * Myspace

Audio Engineer at Fast Forward Studios
Post Posted Tue Sep 26, 2006 11:32 pm
radek tymecki


User avatar
Posts: 959

jp8000 wrote:What intruments was used on ethnicolor 1?

Fairlight (II?) of course, but how about others?
Fairlight II, DX 7, Emulator, OB-Xa, for percussions Simmons i think
Post Posted Wed Sep 27, 2006 1:50 am
jeremy


User avatar
Posts: 261
Location: Tournai, Belgium

And I would think Drumulator, no?
Post Posted Wed Sep 27, 2006 8:17 am
GeeJee
The GUV'NOR

User avatar
Posts: 8326
Location: Zwolle, The Netherlands
Likes received  : 1

Perhaps - but I think Drumulators were used only on the Rendez-Vous album... as for the rest of the instruments, I think Radek has mentioned most of them...
Post Posted Fri Sep 26, 2008 4:16 pm
jp8000


User avatar
Posts: 2050
Location: Finland, Itä-Suomen lääni

Ok, do it fast??

and what type of guitar is used on the riff (any effects etc)
Master of copying other composers work.. subconsciously

My soundclick

Facebook

My youtube channel
Post Posted Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:07 pm
ElkaSynthex


User avatar
Posts: 29
Location: Odense DEnmark

radek tymecki wrote:
jp8000 wrote:What intruments was used on ethnicolor 1?

Fairlight (II?) of course, but how about others?
Fairlight II, DX 7, Emulator, OB-Xa, for percussions Simmons i think
Simmons SDS V and Linn 1 and 2 also was used on Zoolok was MOOG 55,ARP 2600,Prophet 5.
Access Virus TI keyboard,Korg Radias,Korg MicroX,Roland JX 10,Roland JD 990,Roland Soniccell,Yamaha TG 500,Yamaha FS 1R,Yamaha Motif ES 6 and soon a ELKA SYNTHEX
Post Posted Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:10 pm
ElkaSynthex


User avatar
Posts: 29
Location: Odense DEnmark

What is Yamaha DX 100 used for in RendezVous 4?

I think it is the bell-like in the chorus with Elka Synthex brass.
Access Virus TI keyboard,Korg Radias,Korg MicroX,Roland JX 10,Roland JD 990,Roland Soniccell,Yamaha TG 500,Yamaha FS 1R,Yamaha Motif ES 6 and soon a ELKA SYNTHEX
Post Posted Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:25 pm
Pete


User avatar
Posts: 92

radek tymecki wrote:
jp8000 wrote:What intruments was used on ethnicolor 1?

Fairlight (II?) of course, but how about others?
Fairlight II, DX 7, Emulator, OB-Xa, for percussions Simmons i think
...Simmons indeed... and Linn Drum (rather than drumulator)
I love how the toms sound compressed and effected! In none of the live version the toms are so great IMHO.
Post Posted Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:31 pm
Jakob BC
English Moderator, Studio/Stage Expert

User avatar
Posts: 4344
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Hey guys, if you didn't notice it, the talk about Ethnicolor is 2 years old :wink:

@JP - It's a tough one as most of the VA's JMJ used on T&T could possibly have been used. It wouldn't surprise me if you could find some of the sounds used as presets in the Radias, Virus TI, V-Synth or the Andromeda. I suppose the MC-808 was used for the beat, but Im only guessing.
Post Posted Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:46 pm
ElkaSynthex


User avatar
Posts: 29
Location: Odense DEnmark

Pete wrote:
radek tymecki wrote:
jp8000 wrote:What intruments was used on ethnicolor 1?

Fairlight (II?) of course, but how about others?
Fairlight II, DX 7, Emulator, OB-Xa, for percussions Simmons i think
...Simmons indeed... and Linn Drum (rather than drumulator)
I love how the toms sound compressed and effected! In none of the live version the toms are so great IMHO.
I only seen Simmons SDS V been used live also a big kit in China concert in 1981.I had a Simmons SDX that was a sampler that Jarre also use in Revolution album.
Access Virus TI keyboard,Korg Radias,Korg MicroX,Roland JX 10,Roland JD 990,Roland Soniccell,Yamaha TG 500,Yamaha FS 1R,Yamaha Motif ES 6 and soon a ELKA SYNTHEX
Post Posted Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:49 pm
ElkaSynthex


User avatar
Posts: 29
Location: Odense DEnmark

Jakob BC wrote:Hey guys, if you didn't notice it, the talk about Ethnicolor is 2 years old :wink:

@JP - It's a tough one as most of the VA's JMJ used on T&T could possibly have been used. It wouldn't surprise me if you could find some of the sounds used as presets in the Radias, Virus TI, V-Synth or the Andromeda. I suppose the MC-808 was used for the beat, but Im only guessing.
I also have Radias and Virus TI.But have not listen to that song.
Access Virus TI keyboard,Korg Radias,Korg MicroX,Roland JX 10,Roland JD 990,Roland Soniccell,Yamaha TG 500,Yamaha FS 1R,Yamaha Motif ES 6 and soon a ELKA SYNTHEX







  • cron
    2020 Zoolook.nl
    Powered by phpBB forum software
     

     

    cron